We’re All Reds Fans Today

At one point last night, after the Giants had tied up their NLDS series with the Reds and the Cardinals took a 2-1 advantage over Washington, I tweeted something along the lines of “Giants/Cardinals in the NLCS is pretty much the worst-case scenario, isn’t it?”

Giants
Reds
CF
Pagan
2B
Phillips
2B
Scutaro
SS
Cozart
3B
Sandoval
1B
Votto
C

Posey
LF
Ludwick
RF
Pence
RF
Bruce
1B
Belt
3B
Rolen
LF
Blanco
C
Hanigan
SS
Crawford
CF
Stubbs
P
Cain
P
Latos

Judging by the response I received… yes, yes it is. As you may remember from our initial look at the playoffs last week, the Cardinals & Giants are about as low on the “teams we want to see win” scale as you can get. Now sure, I get the argument that if it’s not going to be the Dodgers, we shouldn’t really care who wins. Whether it’s the Cardinals or Nationals or Tigers, none of it’s really going to impact the Dodgers in 2013. (Unless, I suppose, if the Giants win it all and Ned Colletti gives Marco Scutaro a 3/$21m contract.) I get that argument, I do. I also can’t seem to live with it, because the Giants & Cardinals are the two most recent defending champions, and each have had to walk over the Dodgers to get there. It’s unacceptable.

With that in mind, today’s 1pm ET / 10am PT  winner-take-all Game 5 between San Francisco (behind Matt Cain) and Cincinnati (throwing Mat Latos) is of the utmost importance. The Reds can end this right now, and so at least for one day I’m wearing a red Cincinnati cap. In spirit, anyway. (And on another note, how about a weekday 10am local start in the deciding game of a series? If this was the Dodgers playing this game, you’d all be screaming bloody murder.)

Thanks to last night’s heroics – seriously, Raul Ibanez saw three pitches and ended up with one of the five most valuable postseason games of all time – we have another quartet of playoff games today. The Giants and Reds kick it off, and then we’re still treated to…

4pm ET / 1pm PT – Cardinals (Kyle Lohse) vs Nationals (Ross Detwiler), STL leads 2-1

7:30pm ET / 4:30pm PT – Orioles (Joe Saunders) vs Yankees (Phil Hughes), NYY leads 2-1

9:30pm ET / 6:30pm PT – Tigers (Justin Verlander) vs Athletics (Jarrod Parker), tied at 2

Justin Verlander in a clinching game against the can’t-lose-at-home A’s? Oh, that’s going to be fun.

935 comments
Hoagiebum
Hoagiebum

not exactly what you want from your pinch runner

Mike Petriello
Mike Petriello moderator

For some reason I just wrote 1100 words on this Japanese high school kid the Dodgers are sniffing on. I should probably wait unitl tomorrow to post it... but what the hell, I'll probably put it up tonight.

ThtsaPaddlin
ThtsaPaddlin

This is the part where swisher hits a 3r hr.

Hoagiebum
Hoagiebum

if Arod fails here, he will be booed off the field

MSTIer: Jake
MSTIer: Jake

looking at someone like they are crazy should now be called #bidening

ThtsaPaddlin
ThtsaPaddlin

Because we haven't suffered enough tonight.

MSTI OG
MSTI OG

i knoooow boo Giants boo!!!

MSTI OG
MSTI OG

just dont watch so much you get desensitized to it

MSTI OG
MSTI OG

but watching sex is ok?